A Data Centre Project In Plymouth

Data Centre Tiers

Classifications and requirements of Data Centre Tiers

When considering a data centre build, you need to be aware of the classification of data centre tiers and what they mean for your business. There are four different data centre tiers used when grading a facility, starting at 1, the lowest, to 4, the highest. As the tiers increase, so too does the expected availability of the data centre, and also construction costs, leaving the classification of a tier 4 data centre predominantly for banks, governments and military data storage.

The most common data centre tiers are 2 and 3, as for many companies this is more than adequate for their needs. Unless it’s imperative that your data is available 99.995% of the time, then the costs of building and maintaining a tier 4 data centre are simply too prohibitive, as every redundant component in a system must be powered, and so will increase the overall running costs.

  • Tier 1
  • Tier 2
  • Tier 3
  • Tier 4

What next?

Want to find out more?

We design and build all data centre tiers.

Call 01993 774444 to speak with our data centre tiers experts to discuss which options are right for you.

Request a Callback

  • Please enter the security code: